Source Information Middlesex, England [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2002.
Original data: Moncrieff, A. R. Hope. Middlesex. London, England: Adam and Charles Black, 1907.

About Middlesex, England

This database contains information about Middlesex County in England. Middlesex is one of the smallest counties in England, but is home to one of the largest cities in the country - London. Because it is so small and not considered a "show county" Middlesex is often overlooked. In this work the author has marked out the charms of the county that are so often neglected. Topics found in this database include:

  • London's County
  • Hampstead and Highgate
  • The Great North Road
  • Edmonton and Enfield
  • Watling Street
  • Harrow and Pinner
  • The Western Roads
  • The Thames Bank

    "A county of England, bounded by Hertfordshire, Essex, Surrey, Kent, and Buckinghamshire. It is one of the least counties in England, being only about 22 miles in length, and 14 in breadth. It contains 7 market towns, and about 98 parishes, without including those in London and Westminster. The air is healthy; but the soil in general being a lean gravel, it is naturally a district of little fertility, though by means of the vicinity to the metropolis, many parts of it are converted into rich beds of manure, clothed with almost perpetual verdure. Besides the Thames, the Lea, and the Coln, Middlesex is watered by several small streams, one of which, called the New River, is artificially brought from Amwell, in Hertfordshire, for the purpose of supplying London with water. Indeed, the whole county may be considered as a demesne to the metropolis, the land being laid out in gardens, pastures, and enclosures of all sorts, for its convenience and support. London is its chief place, and county town. Population, 1,576,636." (From Barclay's Complete and Universal English Dictionary, 1842.)

    "In 1889 the Administrative County of London was formed from the City of London, and parts of Middlesex, Kent and Surrey and was divided into boroughs. In 1963 this County was replaced by Greater London which also took in the rest of Middlesex and parts of Essex and Herts as well as some county boroughs. New London boroughs were then formed." [T.V.H. FitzHugh, The Dictionary of Genealogy, 1994.]

    Taken from: