Newgate Prison stood at the corner of Newgate Street in the City Of London and housed prisoners for over 700 years until it was closed for good in 1902 and later demolished in 1904. It was originally opened in 1188 under the reign of Henry II in order to incarcerate individuals accused of crime whilst awaiting their verdict and potential sentence. The prison held both female and male prisoners and was also used by the Crown to hold those accused of treason and heresy. The prison was destroyed in the Great Fire of London and was rebuilt several years later to a design by Sir Christopher Wren.
This collection contains a calendar of prisoners for the years 1785 to 1853. These calendars consist of lists, for the most part printed, of prisoners tried at Assizes and Quarter Sessions.
The following information can be found in the records where available:
- Birth date
- Date of trial
- Place of arrest