This collection contains records of patients admitted to the Penzance Dispensary between the years 1828 and 1841. Details provided typically include:
- Date Admitted
Originally established in 1809 as the Penzance Public Dispensary and Humane Society in Market Jew Street, the hospital later moved to Chapel Street in 1813 and to a second Chapel Street site in 1823. Then in 1873, after a move to the site of an old workhouse and prison in St Clare Street, it became known as the West Cornwall Dispensary and Infirmary. The hospital was re-built on that site in 1906, and in 1929 was renamed The West Cornwall Hospital.