Source Information Oklahoma and Indian Territory, U.S., Land Allotment Jackets for Five Civilized Tribes, 1884-1934 [database on-line]. Lehi, UT, USA: Operations, Inc, 2014.
Original data:

Department of the Interior. Office of Indian Affairs. Five Civilized Tribes Agency. Applications for Allotment, compiled 1899–1907. Textual records. Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. The National Archives at Fort Worth, Texas.

About Oklahoma and Indian Territory, U.S., Land Allotment Jackets for Five Civilized Tribes, 1884-1934

About this collection

Historical Background
In 1893 Congress passed legislation that established what became known as the Dawes Commission. This Commission was responsible for negotiating agreements with the Five Civilized Tribes—the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole—to dissolve the tribal governments and allot land to each tribal member.

In 1898 the Commission began preparing tribal membership rolls that were the basis for the land allotment. In the years following, the Commission oversaw applications for tribal citizenship. In 1907 the tribal membership rolls were officially closed. However, under a 1914 act, an additional 312 individuals were enrolled.

What Is Included in This Database
This collection includes the allotment records for those who were listed on the final membership rolls. The records include original applications for allotment submitted on printed forms, transcripts of hearings held by the Commission pertaining to the selection of tracts, printed plat maps (form 59) annotated to show the location of selections, notices of contested allotment selections, and some related correspondence. The files often include receipts for allotment certificates and certificates of eligibility for allotment.

Applications for minor children generally include letters of guardianship or administration.