Search for content in message boards

Old 2011 files when Upgrading to 2012

Replies: 9

Old 2011 files when Upgrading to 2012

Posted: 1318467223000
Classification: Query
I upgraded from 2011 to 2012 today. I thought that when I did this it would create a new 2012 file, and leave the 2011 file untouched.

Instead, it appears to have just converted the 2011 file. After the upgrade, I could find only one .ftm file. I must admit that the dialogue box did clearly state that the file was going to be converted and could not be used in an earlier version of the program.

I did create a backup file as part of the conversion process, and I was able to restore that backup without a problem into FTM 2011.

It's the first time I've upgraded a file like this so I have no first hand experience. From many posts here, I had always thought the upgrade created a new file, but maybe I misinterpreted them (wouldn't be the first time).

Or is conversion, rather than creating a brand new file, new in FTM 2012?

Paul Gray
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
Paul Gray 1318467223000 
jamclo 1318467412000 
ginglish1 1318468271000 
d1u9s5t2y 1318469900000 
jamclo 1318471433000 
CampbellJill 1318471850000 
sl_kelly 1318472478000 
jamclo 1318473039000 
d1u9s5t2y 1318472532000 
jamclo 1318473381000 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic